HUNGARIAN STUDIES 1. No. 1. Nemzetközi Magyar Filológiai Társaság. Akadémiai Kiadó Budapest [1985]

HUNGARIAN STUDIES a Journal of the International Association of Hungarian Studies (Nemzetközi Magyar Filológiai Társaság) Hungarian Studies appears twice a year. It publishes original essays—written in English, French or German—dealing with all aspects of the Hungarian past and present. Multidisciplinary in its approach, it is envisaged as an international forum of literary, philological, historical and related studies. Manuscripts will be evaluated by the Board of Editors, and papers vetoed by any of them will not be published. Each issue will contain about 160 pages and will occasionally include illustrations. All manuscripts, books and other publications for review should be sent to the editorial address or to the Chairman of the Board of Editors. Hungarian Studies is published by AKADÉMIAI KIADÓ Publishing House of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences H-1054 Budapest, Alkotmány u. 21. Orders may be placed with KULTÚRA Foreign Trading Company (1389 Budapest 62, P.O. Box 149) or its representatives abroad. Editorial address Budapest H-1250 Budapest I,, Országház u. 30. P.O. Box 34 Telephone: 160-160/126 Hungary Editors Vilmos Voigt (managing editor) Sarolta Kretzoi (executive editor) Béla Pomogáts (assistant editor) Éva Csallóközi (editorial secretary) Board of Editors Chairman: Denis Sinor, Goodbody Hall 101, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana 47405 Telephone: 812-335-0959 Kálmán Benda, Magyar Tudományos Akadémia, Történettudományi Intézet, Budapest György Bodnár, Magyar Tudományos Akadémia, Irodalomtudományi Intézet, Budapest László Deme, József Attila Tudományegyetem, Szeged Jean-Luc Moreau, National Institute for Oriental Languages and Civilizations, Paris Péter Rákos, University of Prague Advisory Council Loránd Benkő, Eötvös Loránd Tudományegyetem^ Budapest; George Frederick Cushing, London University; Béla Gunda, Kossuth Lajos Tudományegyetem, Debrecen; Tibor Klaniczay, Magyar Tudományos Akadémia, Budapest; Clara Maytinskaya, Academy of Sciences of the USSR, Moscow; Wolfgang Schlachter, Georg August University, Göttingen; Zoltán Szabó, I. G. Parhon University, Bucharest; Miklós Szabolcsi, Magyar Tudományos Akadémia, Budapest; István Szeli, Academy of Vojvodina, Novi Sad; Bo Wickman, University of Uppsala